Video Art Channel: Some Kind of Nature (2015)

Friday, June 15 from 6pm – 8pm
Saturday, June 16 from 6.30pm – 8.30pm
Video Art Channel

Some Kind of Nature (Tejal Shah, 2015, 6:30min, video/HD, B/W, sound)

Some Kind of Nature, video still

Some Kind of Nature (2013-14) paints a surreal and mystical picture, which acts as an allegory for humankind’s relationship to nature. The images we see compel us to see beyond and behind what is seen. With special and sensual attention to rocks and trees, amplifying the poetry inherent in them, these inanimate beings begin to come alive and unfurl a communication of their own. Tejal Shah is interested in the (entangled) moment of becoming where human and nature collapse as independent, self-contained entities and emerge as a dense network of interdependences. Shot entirely in Goa including the heritage site of Usgalimal Petroglyphs that are approximately 20,000 – 30,000 years old, the installation speaks to the interspecies anxiety we are experiencing in the anthropocene. The video reminds us that vision is a creation and not just a perception.

We present channel 1 of a 2-channel video installation (originally 2013-14; channel 2: 1:37min)

The sound of the video:
Sounds of this video are rather gentle. Yet, they are mystifying: Is this the sound of a machine or a body; cracking or stepping; a dog, a bird, an insect? Some Kind of Nature. What kind of nature? Grass blades rubbing against each other in the wind; the gurgling of fast, but shallow water floating over stones; chirping, chirking, chittering of birds, humming of bees, clittering of crickets. Repetition, rhythm, continuation. Sound slowly zooming in and out. Quietness. The hybrid bird-like figure does not release any sounds.

(perceived and described by: Antke Engel, Jule Gießler, and Anna Letsiou)


Tejal Shah (b.1979, Bhilai, India; currently lives in New Delhi, India) graduated with a BA in photography from RMIT, Melbourne and spent a year as an exchange student at The Art Institute of Chicago and another summer trying to get an MFA from Bard College. Her practice incorporates video, photography, performance and installation and focuses on “the inappropriate/d other” – one whom you cannot appropriate and one who is inappropriate. Que(e)rying everything, she creates alter-curious worlds riddled with fact, fiction, poetry and mythology, compelling us to re-engage with propositions on the complex relationships between interspecies, ecology, gender, sexuality and consciousness. Currently, she thinks of herself as some kind of artist working on some kind of nature.

artist’s website

galery/art work websites: project 88 and barbara gross

Interview with Tejal Shah by Valerie-Siba Rousparast

Video conversation about Some Kind of Nature by Friederike Nastold

Video Art Channel: Some Kind of Nature (2015)

Freitag, 15. Juni von 18.00 – 20.00
Samstag, 16. Juni von 18.30 – 20.30
Video Art Channel
im Rahmen des KLIRRRRR Festivals

Some Kind of Nature von Tejal Shah. 2013-14. 10 min

Some Kind of Nature, video still

Some Kind of Nature (2013-14) malt ein surreales und mystisches Sinnbild für Mensch-Natur-Verhältnisse und über das Sichtbare hinausweisen. Mit sinnlicher Aufmerksamkeit lässt die Künstlerin Felsen zum Leben erwachen und Bäume langsam ihre eigenen Kommunikationsformen entfalten. Tejal Shah interessiert sich für den verstrickten Moment des Werdens, in dem die vermeintlich eigenständige, in sich geschlossene Einheiten aufbrechen und anfangen als ein dichtes Netz von Abhängigkeiten in Erscheinung zu treten. Das Video wurde vollständig in Goa gedreht, wo die Künstlerin lebt und arbeitet, und bezieht das dortige Erbe der etwa 20.000 – 30.000 Jahre alten Usgalimal Petroglyphen ein. Some Kind of Nature adressiert die Ängste zwischen verschiedenen Spezies, die wir im Chthuluzän erleben, und erinnert uns an den schöpferischen Akt, der im Sehen liegen kann.

Wir zeigen Kanal 1 einer  2-Kanal Video Installation (ursprünglich 2013-14; Kanal 2: 1:37min)

Die Tonspur des Videos
Freundliche Geräusche, und doch irritierend: dieses gleichmäßig raschelnde Schreiten, kommt es von Mensch oder Maschine? In der Ferne: bellen, zwitschern, knattern, zirpen, … Welche Art von Natur? animalisch (Hund, Vogel, Insekt), geologisch (Wind, Wasser, Stein), kosmisch (wie klingt der Mond?)? Wiederholung, Rhythmus, Dauer und Unterbrechung. Die Geräusche wechseln zwischen Vordergrund und Hintergrund, manchmal langsamer, manchmal plötzlich. Stille. Das hybride Schnabelwesen gibt keine Geräusche von sich.

(erfahren und beschrieben von: Antke Engel, Jule Gießler, and Anna Letsiou)


Tejal Shah (* 1979, Bhilai, India; lebt momentan in New Delhi, Indien) hat einen BA in Photographie am RMIT, Melbourne erworben, verbrachte ein Jahr am The Art Institute of Chicago und einen weiteren Sommer am Bard College mit dem Ziel einen MFA  zu machen. Ihre künstlerische Praxis verbindet Video, Photographie, Performance und Installation; ihr Interesse gilt den “inappropriate/d others” – diejenigen, die du nicht aneignen (appropriate) kannst und die unangemessen (inappropriate) bleiben. Indem sie allem mit einer Haltung des Que(e)rying begenet, kreiert Shah anders-eigentümliche (alter-curious) Welten, Welte, deren Fakten, Fiktionen, Poetiken und Mythologien uns Rätsel aufgeben, die uns herausfordern, unsere Annahmen über die komplexen Beziehungen zwischen Spezien, Ökologie, Gender, Sexualität und Bewusstsein zu überdenken. Momentan versteht sie sich selbst irgendeine Art von Künstler*in, die zu irgendeiner Art von Natur arbeitet.

artist’s website

Galerie-/Werk-Webseiten: project 88 and barbara gross

Interview mit Tejal Shah, geführt von Valerie-Siba Rousparast

Video-Gespräch zu Some Kind of Nature von Friederike Nastold