Video Art Channel: Bisheh by Mary Ana (2017)

Friday, June 15 from 6pm – 8pm
Saturday, June 16 from 6.30pm – 8.30pm
during the Video Art Channel

Bisheh (Mary Ana 2016, Iran/Sweden, 15 min, Video)

Bisheh (Persian: بیشه ) means something like “thicket” in English. Producing connections, even under the most awkward conditions, is one of Mary Ana’s most salient aesthetic and political practices. In Bisheh she does so through the activity of correspondence: writing a letter to a friend who is far from her, from you, thereby dealing with effects of distance and borders. We could call it a video-love letter. Parallel to that three women, in closet with materials of their lives, get ready for a coming resistance which might happen somewhere outside, in any place and time.

Bisheh von Mary Ana (2017)

Maryam Sheikh (1981) is an Iranian artist and activist, working in video, drawing, and short story. She studied Persian Language and Literature in Iran and left the country in 2013 due to the pressures by the Iranian government because of her activities in student, working class, feminist and LGBTQ movements. She arrived at Norrköping city of refuge-Sweden at 2015 and made four film-practices during her residency including The Weavers (10min, 2015), Bisheh (15min, 2016), Resistance is life (13min, 2016), and Suspense (18min, 2017). Her works mostly tackle the themes of women, immigrants and LGBTQs condition. Maryam Sheikh also has studied film courses at Marieborg film-school as well as a documentary film course Working With the Real at Linköping University. She is currently living as a refugee in Sweden. You can check out her work at her YouTube channel.

The letter (read in Swedish, typed in English): Dear Shen,

Today I was thinking about borders, the borders that make this letter possible. And how a love letter could overcome the boundaries between here and there, by performing the words as affects that have neither a source nor a destination, but produce an open space of connections to any possible you, to the unexpected guest, and the ways I am bound with you, where you stand in the Bisheh near your owl who is about to fly. Could these words fly? These leaden whips and inky wounds inscribed on the paper, by the motion of my fingers far from you, could I capture the flying words of a revolutionary love?!

 

The sound of the video:

Bisheh beginns with a hissing spray bottle. It has a second part, which is dominated by the clatter of a typewriter, cautiously complemented by the sad sound of a harmonica, the former fast and insisting, the latter long-drown-out. The third part is defined by the regular click of a slide projector ejecting the next slide, accompanied by dense knocks of metal on wood, and the dull ones of wood on wood. The video ends with a pop song, which refrain runs: “United! United!”.

(perceived and described by: Antke Engel, Jule Gießler, and Anna Letsiou)

Video Art Channel: Bisheh von Mary Ana (2017)

Freitag, 15. Juni von 18.00 – 20.00
Samstag, 16. Juni von 18.30 – 20.30
Video Art Channel
im Rahmen des KLIRRRRR Festivals

Bisheh (Mary Ana 2016, Iran/Sweden, 15 min, Video)

Bisheh (Persisch: بیشه ) bedeutet soviel wie „Dickicht“. Das Kreieren von Verbindungen, selbst unter den schwierigsten Bedingungen, ist eine der herausragenden ästhetischen und politischen Praktiken von Mary Ana. In Bisheh geschieht dies durch Korrespondenzen: Sie schreibt einen Brief an eine Freundin, die weit von ihr entfernt ist, auch von dir, und beschäftigt sich so mit den Auswirkungen von Distanz und Grenzen. Wir könnten es einen Video-Liebesbrief nennen. Parallel dazu umgeben sich drei Frauen mit Materialien ihres Alltags, um sich auf einen kommenden Widerstand vorzubereiten, der irgendwo außerhalb, an jedem Ort und zu jeder Zeit, stattfinden kann.

Bisheh von Mary Ana (2017)

Maryam Sheikh (1981) ist eine iranische Künstlerin und Aktivistin, die Videos, Zeichnungen und Kurzgeschichten erstellt. Sie studierte Persisch und Literatur im Iran. 2013 verließ sie das Land wegen des Drucks, den die iranische Regierung aufgrund ihrer Aktivitäten innerhalb der Student*innen-, Arbeiter*innen-, Feminismus- und LGBTQ-Bewegungen auf sie ausübte. Sie fand 2015 in Norrköping, Schweden, Zuflucht. Seitdem hat sie vier Filme realisiert, darunter The Weavers (10min, 2015), Bisheh (15min, 2016), Resistance is life (13min, 2016) und Suspense (18min, 2017). Ihre Arbeiten beschäftigen sich hauptsächlich mit den Lebensbedingungen von Frauen, Immigrant*innen und LGBTQ. Maryam Sheikh hat außerdem Filmkurse an der Marieborg Filmschule belegt sowie den Dokumentarfilmkurs Working With the Real an der Universität Linköping besucht. Sie lebt derzeit als Geflüchtete in Schweden.

Maryam Sheikh hat einen YouTube Channel.

Der Brief (auf Schwedisch gelesen, auf English getippt): Liebe Shen,

Heute habe ich über Grenzen nachgedacht, die Grenzen, die diesen Brief ermöglichen. Und ob ein Liebesbrief die Grenzen zwischen hier und dort überwinden kann, wenn Worte als Affekte zum Auftritt kommen, die weder eine Quelle noch ein Ziel haben, sondern einen offenen Verbindungsraum zu jedem möglichen Du hervorbringen, du unerwartete Gast, und ich, die ich an dich gebunden bin, dort, wo du im Dickicht stehst, nahe deiner Eule, die kurz vor dem Abflug ist.

Können diese Worte fliegen? Diese bleiernen Flügel und tintigen Wunden, die dem Papier eingeschrieben sind, kann ich mit den Bewegungen meiner von dir weit entfernten Finger die fliegenden Worte einer revolutionären Liebe fangen?

Die Tonspur des Videos:

Bisheh hat vier klar unterschiedene Sound-Teile: Es beginnt mit dem Fauchen einer Sprühflasche; der zweite Teil ist eine Art Dialog, vielleicht ein Missverstehen, zwischen dem energischen Tippen und Klackern einer Schreibmaschine und dem langgezogen traurigen Tönen einer Mundharmonika. Dann ein Teil, der strukturiert ist durch das gleichmäßige Klicken eines Diaprojektors, ergänzt durch Klackklack von Messer auf Holz, bzw. Tocktock von Holz auf Holz. Am Ende ein Popsong mit dem Refrain “United! United!”.

(erfahren und beschrieben von: Antke Engel, Jule Gießler, and Anna Letsiou)